FTB:Odds and Ends From Northwest Arkansas and Beyond

Robert Shields touches on the hassle-free recruiting of players who don’t live in NWA, Wally Hall leaving 103.7fm KABZ Little Rock, Fayetteville’s trouble marketing the Razorback Track Team, and Little Rock’s Junior Deputy 10-year-old baseball team.


Tony Ugoh Signs With Colts

From ARSN:

Commentary: Colts fans have got to be particularly excited about Ugoh, the 42nd overall selection in the draft. The 6-foot-5, 301-pounder started 35 of 36 possible games in his final three years with the Arkansas Razorbacks; he should see much playing time this season. Coe, after starting his career with Arkansas, finished at the University of Alabama State by being named All-Southwestern Athletic Conference in 2006.


J-Mee Samuels Earns Bronze Medal at Pan Am Games

From Hogwired.com..

Arkansas’ J-Mee Samuels ended competition at the Pan Am Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on Saturday earning a bronze medal as a member of the 4×100-meter relay.

In Friday’s preliminary rounds of the event, Samuels took the lead leg for Team USA and combined with former Texas Tech Red Raider Rae Edwards, current Tennessee Volunteer Rubin Williams and former TCU star Darvis Patton to clock a 38.93 to win their semifinal heat.

In Saturday’s finals, Samuels again took the lead leg for the quartet and aided Team USA to a bronze finish with a time of 38.88. Team Brazil won the event with a time of 38.81 and Team Canada earned a silver finish with a time of 38.87.


CFN’s Arkanas Preview

College Football News has released their season preview on Arkansas. They predict a 7-4 record but say that a 9-10 win season is very possible. They also have announced their All-SEC squad. They’ve named Darren McFadden Preseason Offensive Player of the Year. I listed all of the Razorbacks on their All-SEC squad below.

First Team
RB – Darren McFadden, Jr. Arkansas
OL – Jonathan Luigs, Jr. Arkansas
Second Team
RB – Felix Jones, Jr. Arkansas
WR – Marcus Monk, Sr. Arkansas
OL – Robert Felton, Sr. Arkansas
KR – Felix Jones, Jr. Arkansas
DL – Antwain Robinson, Jr. Arkansas
DB – Michael Grant, Sr. Arkansas

Via College Football News

Inman Stays With ARSN

ARSN has announced that Scott Inman and Rick Schaeffer will have expanded roles this coming season. Inman will now host the Pre-Game Show and, as he did last year, will continue to host the Halftime and Scoreboard Shows. Schaeffer will return to the ARSN football broadcasts as part of the Pre-Game Show, Dodge Halftime Show and Sonic Post-Game Show. Schaeffer’s been statistician for the last three years.