Hogs 1 of 8 National Seeds

Vandy was named the #1 overall seed. The Remaining National Seeds in Order are Rice (49-12), North Carolina (48-12), Texas (44-15), Arizona State (43-13), Florida State (47-11), Arkansas (41-19) and San Diego (43-16). The bracket is available after the link.

Error: I noted in an earlier post that if Arkansas Wins it’s Regional it will host a Super Regional. That is not correct. They would have a chance to host a Super Regional, although it is not guaranteed.


Razorbacks to Host NCAA Regional

Before todays SEC Title Game loss to Vanderbilt, the University of Arkansas received the good news of having been selected to host a NCAA Regional. Arkansas has hosted a regional three previous times (1999, 2004, 2006). Arkansas received an At-Large bid into the tournament by virtue of having been selected to host a regional.

The University will find out Monday if they have been selected as one of the top eight national seeds which would allow the University to host a Super Regional automatically, if the Hogs win the regional they are hosting.

The remaining at-large teams, the afore mentioned top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 11:30 a.m. Central time, Monday, May 28, during a live, half-hour program on ESPN. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on http://www.NCAASports.com, Monday, June 4, at approximately 10 p.m. (Central).


Vandy Scores 4 Early To Down Hogs in Title Game

The Commodores Scored 4 in the First, 3 unearned, off of Razorback starter Dallas Keuchel and never looked back. The final was Vandy 7 Arkansas 4. Arkansas is now 0-3 in SEC Tournament championships games. The Hogs also lost the 1998 game to Auburn and the 1999 game to Alabama.

With the loss the Razorbacks now have the dubious distinction of being the first school in the conference to play in the big three Championship Games in the same academic year (baseball, football, and Basketball), and losing all of them.


Arkansas First to Complete SEC Championship Triple Crown

The University of Arkansas became the first school in SEC history to advance to the conference Football, Basketball, and Baseball Championship Games.

“It is a tremendous credit to our coaches, our student-athletes and our fans that we have reached the championship games in football, basketball and baseball all in the same year,” Arkansas Athletic Director Frank Broyles said. “When you consider of all the outstanding programs in our league and their success, no school has been able to accomplish this feat previously. I’m very proud of this truly special year and the unprecedented success of the Razorback program.”


Jess Todd Strikesout School Record 17 in 6-0 Win

He broke the previous record of 16 by David Walling vs. Eastern Illinois on Feb. 20, 1998, and Warren Hemm vs. SMU on March 26, 1976…

The 17 strikeouts were also an SEC Tournament record, breaking Florida’s Rob Bonanno old record of 15 against Georgia in 1994…

Todd also struck out his first nine batters-all swinging…

Hogs have Friday off and will play 10 a.m. Saturday vs. the winner of the SC/FLA rematch…

This is only the second time in school history the Razorbacks have won their first two games in the SEC tournament…

The back-to-back 6-0 shutouts of Alabama and South Carolina mark the first since 1989 when the Hogs blanked Western Michigan 15-0 on March 3 and Iowa State 1-0 on March 10…

The 1998 team won the first three games before losing to Auburn in the title game.


Schmidt Shutsout Tide 6-0

In his first career complete-game shutout, Nick Schmidt held Alabama to two hits as the Razorbacks scored their first SEC tournament win since 2004. It was also the first shutout over an SEC team away from Baum Stadium since Todd Abbott’s no-hitter at Vanderbilt on April 1, 1994.

Arkansas faces South Carolina at 5pm cdt Thursday in the second round of the SEC tournament.

South Carolina earned the right to face the Hogs after a 12 win over Florida 4-3.

The SEC tournament is being held at Regions Field in Hoover, AL.

Hogwired.com (Arkansas Win)
Gatorsports.com (SC/FLA)